NESA logo  Page banner NEA logo

National Eisteddfod of South Africa
  Skip Navigation Links


Just to release the pressure somewhat.....!

The closing date for ONLINE entries and HARD COPY entries has been extended until midnight Friday 5 February.

NEA Young Performer Awards Competition 2016


The NEA Young Performer Awards Competition is a prestigious competition comprising of four rounds where the best of the best are being adjudicated by a panel of adjudicators for each arts discipline. It is presented annually during March – May and involves a process of elimination (First Round, Quarter Final, Semi-Final and Final Round) where adjudicators expect from each participant an outstanding and true performance that displays originality (“spark”). The expected level of skills, knowledge and understanding relevant to the performance is exceptionally high (being “cute” is not enough!). At the end of each round a limited number of candidates are selected for participation in the next round.


All amateur performers that received diploma awards (or 90%+) in local arts festivals, eisteddfods or competitions are invited to participate on a national level by entering the 13th NEA Young Performer Awards Competition. This offers every aspiring performer in the country the opportunity to be awarded the Best Performer in South Africa and share in the prize money in excess of R50, 000!


Founded by the National Eisteddfod Academy in 2004 to provide the best young performers in the various regional events presented by the National Eisteddfod with a single prestigious platform, the annual NEA Young Performer Awards Competition now provides a national platform where the best young performers in music, dance and drama, as identified at various festivals and competitions, can compete and showcase their talents. The NEA, supported by the National Lotteries Commission, also manages the National Eisteddfod of South Africa™, the largest eisteddfod platform in the country.

In the interest of all talented young performers in the county, and to create additional opportunities for exposure and development to as many of them as possible, the NEA would like to take hands with other eisteddfods or festivals. Organisers of these events are most welcome to nominate and enter their top achievers under the name of their organization for participation in the NEA Young Performer Awards Competition.

The NEA has proved to be a spring board for many future achievements. Henno William (silver medalists in the NEA Awards 2015) and Isabella Jane Snyman were both finalists in E-TV’s recent SA’s got talent competition. Andile Ndlovu and Camille Bracher were top achievers at the 2007 International Ballet Competition. Ndlovu, also a finalist in KykNet’s "Dance, Dance, Dance", is currently with the Washington Ballet, one of the US’s most prestigious dance companies. Carmen Pretorius, a rising star in the entertainment industry, has performed amongst others in Mamma Mia, Cinderella, Jersey Boys and in the South African movie Lien se Lankstaanskoene.. Rough Silence (talented guitarist duo Jason Day and Merrick Kyle), recently won the Marshall Music Acoustic Competition. Ying-Shan Tseng, the Most Inspiring Performer in 2009 even attracted attention from the Chinese government, while Death Rattle, a dance group, was invited to perform for the title shoot of a TV programme (2009).

Participants in this competition will have the opportunity to either perform live or to submit a video recording of the performances on DVD for adjudication in the first round of this prestigious competition. This gives young performers in remote areas, who were previously unable to enter the competition, now a unique opportunity to compete against their peers.

All four rounds of adjudication  will take place at the Roodepoort Theatre, starting with the first round (15 February to 17 March) and concluding with the final round on 21 May. The semi-final round takes place from 9 to 14 May and will be presented as evening concerts at the Roodepoort Theatre, each one dedicated to a different genre (i.e. Classical Music, Contemporary Music, Dance and Drama).

The final deadline for entry (live performances) into this competition is 9 February 2016. All recorded DVD’s entries should reach the NEA not later than 29 February 2016. For more information about entry fees, forms and additional information click here.....

Mimi Coertse, Ismail Mahomed, Sibongile Mngoma, Gloria Bosman, Heinz Winkler, Relebogile Mabotja, Bianca le Grange, Vinette Ebrahim, Iain MacDonald, Roderick Jaftha, Diane Coutts and Jan Engelen are a few of the many well-known luminaries that have adjudicated in the past. The National Arts Festival director Ismail Mahomed, a judge at the 2013 Awards, stated, "I feel ecstatic when the arts go beyond tokenism because then it is giving recognition to our real achievers and champions. If the NEA Award winners represent the next generation of artists, I am filled with great hope for the creative industries". Dawn Lindberg had the following to say: "Des and I were knocked out and delighted by the stunning talent revealed at the recent NEA Young Performers Awards at the Roodepoort Theatre. The beguiling young performers all displayed self-confidence, style, and excellent technique and indeed: Star Quality! The future of SA theatre is Alive and Well! Viva SA Theatre! Viva NEA!"

The National Eisteddfod Academy(NEA) is a non-profit organization founded in 1997 with the sole purpose to expose our youth to the magic of the performing arts.

Powered by NETdentity